Christmas: Lagos engages Sunny Ade, Tiwa Savage, 2Face, others for fiesta


The Lagos State government plans to host
what it calls a better, bigger and bolder edition of the popular One Lagos Fiesta across the five divisional zones of the state, starting from today, the Christmas eve, Saturday December 24.

In a statement signed on Thursday by the
state’s Commissioner for Information and
Strategy, Mr. Steve Ayorinde, the government said residents and visitors in Ikeja, Ikorodu, Epe, Badagry and Lagos Island will be treated to the best of musical entertainment, cultural displays, comedy and cuisine from the state.

The fiesta, which made its debut in 2015
after the Lagos Countdown was rechristened
One Lagos Fiesta and spread across the five
divisions of Lagos, will run daily from 12 midday to 12 midnight, with the first six hours dedicated to entertainment for children.

According to the Commissioner, the fiesta is
running on the same template like last year’s
but with three notable additions to make it
more impactful this year.

He said, “first, the duration of the fiesta is
longer this year. Instead of the five days of
last year, Lagosians will have eight days of
fun and camaraderie this year.

Secondly, there will be reward for new talents
across the five zones this year. We have
already had a very successful audition where
50 successful candidates were picked from
each of the zones. They will have the opportunity to perform on the same stage as
the superstars that will be featured this year.
Two finalists will emerge from each zone by
Friday the 30th December. Those lucky 10
will then slug it out at the grand finale of OLF
at the Eko Atlantic stage with three winners
that will be rewarded handsomely.
“More importantly, this year’s fiesta has a
broader base of artistes, beyond hip-hop and
contemporary music. There will be more
traditional troupes and local artistes from
each zonal division and the fiesta will
welcome participation from non-hip hop
superstars who will grace the fiesta for the
first time like King Sunny Ade, Chief Ebenezer
Obey, King Wasiu Ayinde Marshal (Kwam 1),
Sir Shina Peters, Queen Salawa Abeni,
Lagbaja, Adewale Ayuba, Abass Akande
Obesere and Sulaimon Adio Atawewe.”
Ayorinde added that the fiesta would kick off
on a bright note from Day One with
superstars like Olamide, Phyno, Tiwa Savage,
2Face, M1, Kiss Daniel, Reminisce, Falz,
Adekunle Gold, Yemi Alade, Seyi Shay, Pato
Ranking, Humble Smith and Techno as well
as renowned disc jockeys and stand-up
comedians expected across the zones.


About Author

Leave A Reply